Digital Technologies Curriculum Changes

August 4, 2017

Click on the link immediately below to find out more about how the curriculum is changing in respect to Digital Technologies & Hangarau Matihiko. By 2020 this will effect all students in all levels of schooling.

What is Digital Technologies & Hangarau Matihiko (DT & HM)?

What will change for my child?

All students from year 1 to year 13 (ages 5 to 18 roughly) will have the opportunity to learn DT & HM. Students will be able to specialise from year 11 to year 13. We are starting with NCEA Level 1 achievement standards, which will be available for use from 2018. Levels 2 and 3 will be made available from 2019. Many teachers, schools, kura and Kāhui Ako are already making digital technologies learning part of their teaching programmes. This change ensures that all students get these experiences, to prepare them for a world where digital skills are increasingly valuable to the economy and wider society.

How can you have your say and find out more?

You are welcome to give us your feedback on the draft curriculum at the survey link below or attend a workshop near you. Find out more

If you’d like to get in touch email:


Leave a Reply