School Zone Finder

Please click the button below to go to the Education Counts website, where you are able to search for your address and see school zoning in your area.

Purpose and Principles

  • To avoid overcrowding or the likelihood of overcrowding at the school.
  • To ensure that the selection of applicants for enrolment at the school is carried out in a fair and transparent manner.

As far as possible, the enrolment scheme will ensure that:

  • Local students are not excluded.
  • No more students are excluded from the school than is necessary to avoid overcrowding.

Home Zone

All students who live within the home zone described below (and shown on the attached map) shall be eligible to enrol at the school.

Please note that all students are encouraged to apply for enrolment regardless of their place of permanent residence.

All students who live within the zone described below shall be entitled to enrol at Taradale High School.  The zone’s boundaries are defined as (see supporting maps):


  • The Ngaruroro river mouth following the Ngaruroro river to the river bridge crossing on the Napier Hastings Expressway, continuing along the Ngaruroro river to the northernmost point of its large bend.
  • A straight line from this point to the Tutaekuri-waimate stream where it crosses State Highway 50
  • This stream and its continuation through Lake Oingo to its source.
  • A straight line from this point to the end of Moteo Pa Road
  • A straight line to the Tutaekuri river immediately opposite the southern end of Apley Road
  • The Tutaekuri river to the Dartmoor Bridge
  • The Mangaone River north from Dartmoor to the Rissington Bridge
  • Puketitiri Road, including all dwellings with immediate access on both sides of the road, to the Seafield Road junction
  • Puketitiri Road (and adjacent properties with access to it) to the junction with Puketapu Road
  • A line from this junction to the Taipa stream mouth that includes Ballantyne Road
  • A line that follows the Taipa Stream from its river to Prebensen Drive.


  • Prebensen Drive south to its intersection with Merlot Drive, follow Merlot Drive southeast and in a line directly from it to the Taipa Stream and then a line from the Taipa Stream southwest to Wharerangi Road.
  •  East up Wharerangi Road to the Westminster Avenue roundabout.
  • From the roundabout, the west side only of Westminster Avenue until the York Avenue intersection
  • South down York Avenue, taking in sections on both sides, where applicable, then across the intersection with Gloucester Street, south down Guppy Road, taking in sections on both sides, until its intersection with Tait Drive.
  • A straight line south-east to the Napier Hastings Expressway, excluding sections to the north of this line
  • North-east along the expressway to a point opposite Tiffen Place.
  •  A straight line east to the north end of the Loop on Riverbend Road (not including any of Pirimai or Maraenui
  • A line south-east to the intersection of Willowpark Avenue and Kenny Road, following Kenny Road to its intersection with Te Awa Avenue, taking in all sections on Kenny and Eriksen Roads, then following a line east to the coast.

The above area is shown on the attached map. Proof of residence within the zone is required.

Special Programmes

This priority category is not applicable at this school because the school does not run a Special programme approved by the Secretary.


Out of Zone Enrolments

Each year the Board will determine the number of places likely to be available in the following year for the enrolment of students who live outside the zone.  The Board will publish this information by notice in a daily or community paper circulating in the area served by the school.  The notice will indicate how applications are to be made and will specify a date by which all applications must be received.

Applications for enrolment will be processed in the following order of priority:

First Priority will be given to students who have been accepted for enrolment in a special programme run by the school (note that this does not apply toTaradale High School).

Second Priority is given to any applicant who is the sibling of a current student of the school.  

Third Priority is given to any applicant who is the sibling of a former student of the school.

Fourth Priority is given to any applicant who is a child of a former student of the school.

Fifth Priority is given to any applicant who is a child of an employee of the Board of the school.

Sixth Priority is given to all other applicants.

If there are more applicants in the first, second, third, fourth or fifth priority groups than there are places available, selection within the priority group will be by ballot conducted in accordance with instructions issued by the Secretary, under Section 11 G(1) of the Education Act 1989.  Parents will be informed of the date of any ballot by notice in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school.

Applicants seeking second or third priority status will be required to give proof of a sibling relationship, or in the case of fourth priority, proof that a parent attended THS.